Western Australia Opens New EV Charging Station in Jurien Bay

The Western Australian government has unveiled a new Electric Vehicle (EV) charging station in Jurien Bay, providing a vital connection between Perth and Northampton. This initiative is part of the government’s Electric Vehicle Strategy for Western Australia, which aims to increase accessibility and environmental friendliness of EV travel across the state.

Located at the Murray Street Road Reserve near the Indian Ocean Drive shopping complex, the Jurien Bay charging station offers both residents and tourists the opportunity to charge their EVs. The station features a DC 150-kilowatt fast charger that can provide a quick top-up in as little as 20 minutes, along with an AC 7.6-kW charger for added convenience.

The installation of the charging station was made possible through a collaboration between Synergy and the Shire of Dandaragan, with a focus on delivering a fast and user-friendly experience. Western Australia’s EV infrastructure is rapidly expanding, with 11 operational charging stations already in place across the state, including popular destinations like Kings Park, Carnarvon, Broome, and Albany.

Additional Synergy EV charging sites are scheduled to open soon in Southern Cross and Coolgardie, while Horizon Power plans to introduce EV charging stations in Exmouth, Karratha, Esperance, and Denham. With a budget of $21 million, the Western Australian Electric Vehicle Network is on track to become the longest network of its kind in Australia, spanning 7,000 kilometers and encompassing 98 EV charging stations across 49 locations.

Energy Minister Bill Johnston expressed his excitement for the new Jurien Bay charging site, which now establishes a connection between Perth and Northampton. The minister highlighted how the charging sites are boosting tourism and making electric transportation more accessible for communities across the state. Climate Action Minister Reece Whitby also emphasized the importance of deploying fast chargers to encourage EV adoption and reduce greenhouse gas emissions, supporting Western Australia’s goal of reaching net-zero emissions by 2050.

– EV: Electric Vehicle
– AC: Alternating Current
– DC: Direct Current
– Synergy: A Western Australian government-owned energy company
– Shire of Dandaragan: Local government authority in Western Australia
– Horizon Power: A government-owned corporation responsible for providing electricity to regional and remote areas of Western Australia

– Minister Bill Johnston’s Twitter
– Western Australian government’s Electric Vehicle Strategy